Max Patch Adventure

Hey guys!

Today I wanted to share one of my most favorite things in the whole world: adventure. As someone who loves a nicely planned day, traveling is the perfect opportunity for me to let my hair down and just go with the wind. Especially as college students, there’s just something about getting off campus, out of the city, and into the wild that clears the mind and relieves stress.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Just a few weeks ago over Labor Day weekend, two friends and I decided to load up in the car and head to the mountains. Max Patch Mountain is about 4.5 hours away from Belmont University in Nashville, but we powered through the drive with Zaxby’s chicken and throwback jams. We got there pretty late and discovered immediately that we were literally hiking into the middle of a cloud. Our mile hike to the top of the summit was surreal; we could only see about 20 feet in front of us.

IMG_1592.JPG

Once we reached the top, we pitched our tiny 2-person tent. Luckily, my friend Rachel is an adventurous camping expert that had packed everything we could’ve possibly needed, so it only took us a few minutes to make ourselves at home. We had taco meat, chips, and salsa for dinner on a little cooking stove, and we made hot cocoa for a post-dinner card game. It was such a simple night of sitting in each other’s presence and laughing at nothing. The. Best.

IMG_1587.JPG

There was nothing that could’ve prepared me for the beauty I was going to see when I stepped out of my tent the next morning. Rolling hills unlike anything I’ve ever seen, the sun just barely peeking over the tip of the mountains, and a sky painted so colorfully that a child could’ve painted it. My friends and I sat in silence, basking in the stillness and peacefulness of this unreal morning routine. When I see something like this, it reminds me that I am simply so small – the homework I’m stressed about or the organization I’m trying to become involved in or the embarrassing thing I said to someone last week – it’s all so miniscule in the grand scheme of things.

So real talk: life without adventure is boring. As humans, we have a tendency to slip into routine and never experience half the things we dream of doing. But this is college! This is the time to explore and challenge yourself and grow and step so far out of your comfort zone that you can’t even remember what it looked like anymore. This is the time to be your own person, and I truly believe that seeing other pieces of our world allow you to figure out who that is.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

So friends, let’s sit back this week and watch the sunrise. Let’s enjoy each other’s company. Let’s catapult out of our comfort zones and challenge ourselves to be bolder. Kinder. More intentional. Let’s listen to each other – really listen. Let’s jump in the car and just go.

Imagine the possibilities.

With love,

For more info on Max Patch Mountain (directions, maps, camping info) check it out here!

 

6 thoughts on “Max Patch Adventure

Leave a Reply

